Technology in the 21st Century.

1. Do you feel the school is preparing you adequately for your future? Why or why not?

I have mixed feeling about the way school is preparing me for my future. On one side, it is obvious to me that school tries their very best to help prepare their students. They do things such as accommodating students schedules, providing extra help and sometimes even going further into the curriculum in a class. By doing so, it has pushed me to my fullest academic potential. Although the school has made sure I am well prepared for the classroom, on the other hand, I feel as though school does not prepare students enough when it comes to important skills required in the real world. Things such as money management, social abilities, self-defense, or even something as simple as buying a car or a house. As a result, students are forced to learn these skills outside of school if they desire to. I believe that because of this, some students may be more prepared than others based on what they decide to do in their future.

2.  How do you personally use technology to learn?

Technology plays a huge and important role towards my learning. I use the internet as a tool for research, communicating with people, and even learning course material where I have difficulties learning from a teacher. I use a program called ‘Desmos’ which is a virtual graphing calculator to assist with my past and current math classes. It is a tool which has helped me with saving time as well as further understanding concepts in the course. Another way I use technology is through forums. It is a place online where people can exchange and view information. Similar to a classroom but with a much larger population of people with a variety of skills and knowledge. Lastly, I use Spotify to listen to music. While some people may say it is a distraction,  I find that music increases my productivity while learning.

3. Do classes that use more technology appeal to you? Is it easier for you to learn the content? 

Classes that use more technology defiantly appeal to me more.  A simple class can become highly interactive by the use of sufficient technology. For me, the use of technology increases the efficiency and effectiveness of what is being taught due to my strong interest in technology. In general, technology has been able to enhance my learning environment through many different ways such as a teacher’s website, having access to a computer when doing research or even the ability to use a keyword over writing on paper.

4.  Does it matter to you if a teacher uses technology in class? Why or why not?

In my opinion, it is necessary for a teacher to utilize technology. In this era, the use of technology is almost mandatory because of the way technology helps us. A perfect example would be the use of power points and online notes. While a teacher is teaching a lesson, it is difficult for students to pay attention and also copy down important information. With a virtual copy of the lesson, students can focus more on listen and get a better understanding of the lesson rather than worrying about getting down all the information. Although I am fully supportive of the use of technology when learning, a big factor in determining to whether the technology will benefit a students learning is if the teacher has a good understanding of how to use it. On many occasions, I have noticed teachers attempt to incorporate technology into their class without a good understanding of how to use it. This results in the students having to instruct the teacher rather than the other way around.

5. What technology would you like to see teachers use that is not currently being used?  Why did you choose that technology?

The past summer I attended an online course. The course was done on Desire2Learn which is an online learning and teaching site used for courses. Desire2Learn was an extremely effective and way for students to learn. It allowed me to see what assignments I have to complete and I was able to easily submit my files through its simplistic format. I feel like implementing Desire2Learn or similar websites such as Google Classroom would be very beneficial to many courses such as ICS or Comm tech since their assignments are displayed and evaluated on the computer.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑